Rush Cleveland–aka “Barry Schneiderman”–was born and raised in Cedar Falls, Iowa. His musical career began after he completed his service in the Marine Corps in 1968. His attention turned to the blues in the early 70s after being influenced by the recordings of B.B. King. A few years later his band, which included Molly Nova, was hired by Bob Dorr. Together these musicians went on to form The Little Red Rooster Band.

In the 80s Rush toured Oklahoma with Blues on the Move including band leader DC Minner. With Vern and the Roadhogs and Denny Garcia, he toured Wisconsin and other states. In 1996, Rush traveled to the Smithsonian Institute with Louis McTizic. They were representatives in the Iowa Sesquicentennial delegation at the two-week Smithsonian Folklife Festival. He also continued with Louis’s band until his death. During this time, he also played with RNB Supply Band, and then formed No Control Blues Band.

In 2013 drummer Will Quegg and bassist Gordon Sawkey joined Rush to form the current version of the Rush Cleveland Trio. The group has spent the last decade touring Iowa and surrounding states, only taking breaks for Rush’s winter trips to play solo gigs in the warm southwest.

Throughout his 50+ year career Rush has produced over 40 recordings. He has opened for the likes of The Nighthawks, Commander Cody, Gatemouth Brown, Bryan Lee and Luther Allison. He has had the privilege of playing alongside Iowa Blues Hall of Famers Bob Dorr, Jeff Peterson, Joe & Vicki Price, Tom Giblin, Louis McTizic, Bunky Marlow and tonight’s fellow inductee Molly Nova.